Sowing the Seeds of Charity

April 30, 2009

The Joy of Giving

Filed under: Uncategorized — by kidsvolunteer @ 5:50 pm

I just want to take a minute and talk about the wonderful gift of giving.  I was thinking about it on my way home from the nursing home this morning.  We always seem to leave with a couple things the residents give to HJ.  Today it was a bean bag frog and hand-made snowman.  Other things have been a big chocolate rabbit and a stuffed dog.  It’s always stuff we don’t need or maybe even want but those who give it are happy to have something to give and so we accept them with grateful hearts.  It quite often is the case that the giver gets as much or more joy out of a gift than the receiver and I am thankful that God created us with the capacity to take joy in sharing and giving to each other.  It’s also a wonderful thing to be able to teach to your children.  I was touched at Easter when my oldest son had won dozens of candy filled eggs at a Church carnival and then proceded to gain just as much delight in divying them up to fill baskets for the members of his family as he did in winning them.  We can always find something to give and take joy in and I am very greatful for that.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.